We have written this book during an extended period from 2006-2011. Most of this work has been done at the Philipps-University Marburg - we truly appreciate the research-oriented infrastructure provided here. We also thank the members of our department for the inspirational research and teaching interactions we have had during our efforts to reveal and explain new semiconductor quantum phenomena. Check out our institute Department of physics, Univ. Marburg!

Research collaborations

We take a deep bow to thank the following researchers (the links explain their research interests in their own words):
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Bayer, Univ. Dortmund Research group
  • Prof. Steven Cundiff, JILA Research group
  • Prof. Hyatt Gibbs, Univ. Arizona
  • Prof. Manfred Helm, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf
  • Prof. Rupert Huber, Univ. Regensburg Research group
  • Prof. Frank Jahnke, Univ. Bremen
  • Prof. Galina Khitrova, Univ. Arizona
  • Prof. Yun-Shik Lee, Oregon State University Research group
  • Prof. Alfred Leitenstorfer, Univ. Konstanz Research group
  • Prof. Peter Michler, Univ. Stuttgart Research group
  • Prof. Jerry Molloney, Univ. Arizona
  • Prof. Ted Norris, Univ. Michigan Research group
  • Prof. John Sipe, Univ. Toronto
  • Prof. Heinrich Stolz, Univ. Rostock
  • Prof. Ilkka Tittonen, Aalto University
because this work would not have been possible without collaborating with you!!!

Technical assistance

We are also extremely grateful to Renate Schmid who has helped us tremendously in coordinating the LaTeX manuscript and who provided us with prolific language and consistency checks.

The personnel of the Cambridge University Press performed a superb job in coordinating, proof-editing, and marketing the book. We are truly grateful for this invaluable help.

The skin of this website has been crafted by:
BSc Christian Berger and MSc Christoph Böttge - many thanks guys!!!

Cluster-Crunching Club (CCC)

The CCC is an instrumental tool to develop new research practices and insights in our research group. The following CCC members have been instrumental in materializing the book:
  • BSc Christian Berger
  • MSc Gunnar Berghäuser
  • MSc Benjamin Breddermann
  • MSc Christoph Böttge
  • BSc Alex Bronn
  • Dr Daniel Golde
  • BSc Ulrich Huttner
  • MSc Andrea Klettke
  • MSc Martin Mootz
  • Dr Lukas Schneebeli
  • Johannes Schurer
  • MSc Phillip Springer
  • Dr Johannes Steiner
cannot thank you enough for you energizing efforts!!!

© 2011 Mackillo Kira and Stephan W. Koch - Imprint